Skip to content

Graduate Student Advising

I have had the privilege of mentoring, learning from, and collaborating on research with many talented individuals while they pursued graduate work at the University of Tennessee. The PhD program in Economics is moderately sized, which allows for close and long-lasting connections between faculty and students. Below is a list of students I have advised in a formal capacity, by serving on their dissertation or thesis committee as either their major professor (chair) or a committee member.

Dissertation Chair of:

  • Vasudha Chopra, 2022; Assistant Professor, Thapar University
  • Michael Brown, 2022 (co-chair); Assistant Professor, Air Force Institute of Technology
  • Hieu Nguyen, 2021; Assistant Professor, Illinois Wesleyan University
  • Dong Yan, 2020; Assistant Professor, Renmin University
  • Adrienne Sudbury, 2020; Assistant Professor, Longwood University
  • Charlton (Eli) Freeman, 2018 (co-chair); Commander, 72nd Comptroller Squadron, US Air Force
  • Jie Deng, 2015; Asst. Prof., Southwestern U. of Finance and Economics (initial placement)
  • Julianna Butler, 2014; Associate Professor, University of Delaware
  • Jens Schubert, 2013; Assistant Professor, University of Delaware
  • Caleb Siladke, 2012; Senior Director, Prime Therapeutics
  • Luke Jones, 2011; Professor, Valdosta State University

Dissertation Committee Member for:

  • John McMahan, 2021; State of Nebraska
  • Na Zuo, 2020; Assistant Professor, Shandong University
  • Patrick McGuire, 2020; Visiting Asst. Prof., Appalachian State University
  • Fanning (Tina) Meng, 2017; Senior Manager, Scotiabank
  • Nastaran Simarasl (Organizations & Strategy), 2016; Asst. Prof., California State Polytechnic U.
  • Lawrence LaPlue, 2016; Associate Professor, New Mexico State University
  • Yin Chu, 2015; Associate Professor, Zhongnan University of Economics and Law
  • Nicholas Busko, 2015; Visiting Asst. Prof., Salisbury University (initial placement)
  • Kang Bok Lee (Statistics), 2014; EBSCO Associate Professor of Business Analytics, Auburn U.
  • Consuelo Brandeis (Natural Resources), 2012; Research Forester, USDA Forest Service
  • Cristina Reiser, 2012; Senior Lecturer, University of New Mexico
  • Bruno Wichmann, 2012; Associate Professor, University of Alberta
  • Zhimei Guo (Natural Resources), 2011; Instructor, Auburn University
  • Omer Bayar, 2010; Associate Professor and Guthrie May Endowed Chair, Univ. of Evansville
  • Stephen Cotten, 2009; Professor, U. of Houston-Clear Lake
  • Jill Collins, 2007; Assistant Professor, Eckerd College

Master's Thesis Chair of:

  • Robert Cobb, 2015; Manager, Business Analytics, Pilot Company
  • Sharon Watson, 2012; Accountant, Marriott Business Services (initial placement)

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.